Ride AnswersHow to pay for transport, city by city
🇬🇧Nottingham 15

Nottingham

A contactless bank card pays your fare on Nottingham City Transport buses, NET trams and trentbarton buses. What it will not do is join them up. Nottingham Contactless, the scheme that stops charging once you have spent enough in a day, covers Nottingham City Transport and the tram. trentbarton runs its own.

Three things to know

1Your bank card is the ticket. A contactless bank card, phone or watch pays your fare on trams and buses. On trams, touch in — touching out is optional; on buses it differs by operator.
2Fares stop at the cap. Nottingham Contactless stops charging at £5.50 a day in Zone A, NCT buses only.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 18 Aug 2026
3Tap the reader on board as you get on. That is how most services here expect to be paid.

Three local travel cards sit side by side and they are not interchangeable. Easyrider is Nottingham City Transport's own card and works on its buses only. The trentbarton equivalent is mango, an account held in a smartphone app with no plastic card at all. Robin Hood is the one that spans operators, on bus and tram. Its day cap comes in two tiers: stay with one operator and the day stops at that operator's own cheaper rate, touch a second and you pay the multi-operator cap of £6.90.

Where contactless works

What works where

Ticket typeTramTrainBus
Tap to pay — bank card or phoneNottingham Contactless
What it isYour own contactless bank card — no local card, app or account needed.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Where to get itNothing to buy first — the card in your pocket is the ticket. Journey/payment history viewable via the Nottingham Contactless website or the rider's own Apple/Google account, visible the day after travel. Card readers on board and in stations: Tap your bank card or phone here to pay directly. Readers on NCT buses and NET trams (Nottingham Contactless) - not trentbarton, which caps separately, and not National Rail
i
transportnottingham.com fetched 4 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
Takes contactless and phone wallets. No coins, notes or chip-and-PIN cards. Gives no change.
How to use itTap the reader on board as you get on.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Travel smartcardRobin Hood card
What it isA reloadable travel smartcard you buy locally and carry.
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Where to get itAll Pay As You Go card types (Adult, Under 19, Student and 19-21) can be purchased online or at the Nottingham Travel Centre; Adult cards can additionally be purchased at any tram ticket machine. Ticket machines · Nottingham City Transport: Sells Easyrider, Robin Hood card and On-the-day Single. Easyrider adult-card issuance points
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 11 Aug 2026
thetram.net fetched 4 Aug 2026
Takes coins, chip-and-PIN cards, contactless and phone wallets. Notes at some.
Ticket offices and counters: Sells Robin Hood card and Easyrider. Nottingham Travel Centre (Old Market Square)
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Check what it takes.
Ticket machines · CrossCountry: Sells On-the-day Single and Robin Hood card. Ticket machines for CrossCountry trains.
i
nationalrail.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Takes coins.
Ticket machines · East Midlands Railway: Sells Robin Hood card and On-the-day Single. Ticket machines for East Midlands Railway trains.
i
eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Takes coins.
Ticket machines · NET: Sells Robin Hood card and On-the-day Single. Ticket machines for Nottingham Express Transit trams.
i
thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Takes coins.
How to use itTap the reader on board as you get on.
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Travel smartcardmango
What it isA reloadable travel smartcard you buy locally and carry.
i
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Where to get itmango is smartphone-app-only. Top up by adding a bank or debit card, then either top up manually (£10 minimum) or set up auto top-up; the maximum account balance is £250. Official app: Sells mango. Pay by card in the app.
i
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
No public page for this one fetched 4 Aug 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
How to use itThe ticket is valid from the moment it is issued - there is nothing to tap or stamp.
i
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Travel smartcardEasyrider
What it isA reloadable travel smartcard you buy locally and carry.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Where to get itOrder or pay for a new Easyrider card online or at the Travel Centre (Old Market Square); the Purse variant can also be posted. Top up the Purse variant online or at the Travel Centre in £5 multiples. Ticket machines: Sells Easyrider, Robin Hood card and On-the-day Single. Easyrider adult-card issuance points
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 11 Aug 2026
thetram.net fetched 4 Aug 2026
Takes coins, chip-and-PIN cards, contactless and phone wallets. Notes at some.
Ticket offices and counters: Sells Robin Hood card and Easyrider. Nottingham Travel Centre (Old Market Square)
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Check what it takes.
How to use itTap the reader on board as you get on.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Phone ticketNCTX Buses / mango / train operator appssome
What it isA ticket bought and carried on your phone.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Where to get itDownload the free NCTX Buses app (iOS or Android) and pay by debit/credit card, Apple Pay or Google Pay. East Midlands Railway e-tickets are bought through the EMR app or eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk.
How to use itCarry it and show it if asked.
i
crosscountrytrains.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Watch forBus: some services.
Paper ticketOn-the-day Single
What it isA printed ticket you hold in your hand.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Where to get itFrom the driver on boarding (NCT and other bus operators). Ticket machines · Nottingham City Transport: Sells Easyrider, Robin Hood card and On-the-day Single. Easyrider adult-card issuance points
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 11 Aug 2026
thetram.net fetched 4 Aug 2026
Takes coins, chip-and-PIN cards, contactless and phone wallets. Notes at some.
On board, from the driver · NCT and other Nottingham-area bus operators: Sells On-the-day Single. Trentbarton, Stagecoach East Midlands
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
Takes contactless and phone wallets. Coins and notes at some. No chip-and-PIN cards. Gives no change.
Ticket machines · CrossCountry: Sells On-the-day Single and Robin Hood card. Ticket machines for CrossCountry trains.
i
nationalrail.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Takes coins.
On board, from the driver · Diamond Bus: Sells On-the-day Single. On board Diamond Bus buses.
i
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Takes coins.
Ticket machines · East Midlands Railway: Sells Robin Hood card and On-the-day Single. Ticket machines for East Midlands Railway trains.
i
eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Takes coins.
On board, from the driver · Nottingham City Transport: Sells On-the-day Single. On board Nottingham City Transport buses.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Takes coins. Notes at some. Gives no change.
Ticket machines · NET: Sells Robin Hood card and On-the-day Single. Ticket machines for Nottingham Express Transit trams.
i
thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Takes coins.
Ticket machines · Northern Trains: Sells On-the-day Single. Ticket machines for Northern trains.
i
northernrailway.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Takes coins.
On board, from the driver · Stagecoach East Midlands: Sells On-the-day Single. On board Stagecoach East Midlands buses.
i
stagecoachbus.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Takes coins.
On board, from the driver · trentbarton: Sells On-the-day Single. On board trentbarton buses.
i
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Takes coins.
How to use itCarry it and show it if asked.
i
crosscountrytrains.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
  • “Some” means the ticket works on only part of that mode. Open a row to see which part, and what each ticket is, where to buy it and how to use it.
  • The Robin Hood Season card gives unlimited travel for 1, 3, 6 or 12 months across the whole Robin Hood boundary (NCT, trentbarton, Stagecoach, NottsBus Connect, CentreBus and Skills buses; NET tram; and East Midlands Railway and CrossCountry rail at six boundary stations), bought online or at the Nottingham Travel Centre.
  • On public transport, East Midlands Airport is reached only by buses, and airport services can have fares of their own; see the airport page.

Getting to East Midlands Airport

How your card works here
What works
  • Which cards: The operator does not name specific cards. It states that any card carrying the contactless symbol works, so there is no list to check yours against.
    i
    nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
  • Fares stop at the cap: £5.50 a day in Zone A, NCT buses only, £6.90 a day in Zone A, NCT plus NET tram and £8.00 a day in Zones B, C and D, NCT buses only.
    i
    nctx.co.uk fetched 18 Aug 2026
  • Nothing to buy first. Journey/payment history viewable via the Nottingham Contactless website or the rider's own Apple/Google account, visible the day after travel.
Watch for
  • Same card in, same card out. The reader ties your journey to the card you started with; a phone-wallet copy counts as a different card.
  • Get it wrong and it costs. A penalty fare of £120.00 applies to travel without a valid ticket.
    i
    support.thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
    nottinghamcontactless.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
    support.thetram.net fetched 11 Aug 2026

More on paying by card here: Contactless in Nottingham

Tram

There is no driver to pay on the tram. Buy from the lime-green machines standing on the platform, or tap a bank card on the reader on the platform. The mango app that trentbarton riders use is not valid here at all. Tapping off matters in one place: inside a Short Hop Zone the fare is £1.50 if you tap off within 20 minutes, and if you do not, the trip is billed as a full single of £3.50.

How do you want to pay?
Tap to pay — bank card or phone
Fare basisZonal fare
Where to get itNothing to get first — the card or phone in your pocket is the ticket.
How to use itValidate at the stop before you board.
i
support.thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
nottinghamcontactless.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 11 Aug 2026
No punitive penalty fare for skipping tap-off on a standard/full single journey. Transfers free within 90 minutes.
Travel smartcard · Robin Hood card
Where to get itAdult cards can additionally be purchased at any tram ticket machine. Full detail: Tickets & cards.
How to use itValidate at the stop before you board.
i
support.thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Phone ticket · NCTX Buses / mango / train operator apps
Where to get itSee Tickets & cards.
Paper ticket · On-the-day Single
Fare basisZonal fare
Where to get itTicket machines for Nottingham Express Transit trams. Full detail: Tickets & cards.

NET fares

Train

Trains sit outside the local pay-as-you-go schemes. A Robin Hood pay-as-you-go card does not cover rail; only the Season card does, and only at six stations — Nottingham, Beeston, Attenborough, Netherfield, Carlton and Bulwell. Tapping a bank card through the gate is not a way to travel on East Midlands Railway. If you have only cash and the ticket office is shut, Northern lets you take a Promise to Pay notice from the machine, good for up to four hours, and buy from the conductor.

Which operator are you on?

CrossCountryFares
How you pay
Pay by Robin Hood card, NCTX Buses / mango / train operator apps or On-the-day Single.
i
crosscountrytrains.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
How to use it
Carry it and show it if asked.
i
crosscountrytrains.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Cost
Flat fare — see the fares link for the amounts.
Worth knowing
Incomplete journeys: CrossCountry does not operate a formal 'Penalty Fare' scheme.
East Midlands RailwayFares
How you pay
Pay by Robin Hood card, NCTX Buses / mango / train operator apps or On-the-day Single.
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
How to use it
Carry it and show it if asked.
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Cost
Zonal fare — see the fares link for the amounts.
Worth knowing
Without a valid ticket: A penalty fare of £100.00.
i
eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Northern TrainsFares
How you pay
Pay by NCTX Buses / mango / train operator apps or On-the-day Single.
i
northernrailway.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
How to use it
Carry it and show it if asked.
i
northernrailway.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Cost
Distance fare — see the fares link for the amounts.
Across every operator here — which ticket do you want to use?
Travel smartcard · Robin Hood card
Who takes itCrossCountry East Midlands Railway
Fare basisCrossCountry: flat fare; East Midlands Railway: zonal fare.
Where to get itAll Pay As You Go card types can be purchased online or at the Nottingham Travel Centre Full detail: Tickets & cards.
How to use itCarry it and show it if asked.
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Not stated on Robin Hood Network's own pages for rail specifically.
Phone ticket · NCTX Buses / mango / train operator apps
Who takes itCrossCountry East Midlands Railway Northern Trains
Fare basisCrossCountry: flat fare; Northern Trains: distance fare.
Where to get itSee Tickets & cards.
Paper ticket · On-the-day Single
Who takes itCrossCountry East Midlands Railway Northern Trains
Fare basisCrossCountry: flat fare; Northern Trains: distance fare.
Where to get itTicket machines for Northern trains. Full detail: Tickets & cards.
CrossCountry does not operate a formal 'Penalty Fare' scheme.
  • Without a valid ticket: A penalty fare of £100.00, £50.00 if paid within 21 days.
    i
    crosscountrytrains.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
    news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
  • Incomplete journeys: CrossCountry does not operate a formal 'Penalty Fare' scheme.
  • Paying cash: Coins buy a paper ticket: Ticket machines for Northern trains. Also at CrossCountry trains and East Midlands Railway trains.
    i
    northernrailway.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
    No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026

CrossCountry fares · East Midlands Railway fares · Northern Trains fares

Bus

Cash rules change with the operator, on buses that share the same stops. Nottingham City Transport drivers cannot give change and will not take £20 or £50 notes, so board with the fare ready. Stagecoach drivers will give change, or hand you a voucher against your next journey if they run short. The tapping differs too: a bank card on a trentbarton bus is touch on and touch off, and missing the second tap charges you the maximum fare for that journey.

One name has gone from the stops: CT4N stopped running buses on 14 August 2026, taking Easylink, Locallink L2, L4 and L14 and services 19 and 20 with it, and Nottingham City Transport now runs the 18 group on its own fares and tickets. Medilink, the shuttle between the Queens Drive park and ride, the QMC and City Hospital, is run by Skills and takes a Robin Hood card; for anything else, ask the driver as you board.

Which operator are you on?

Diamond Busdiamondbuses.com
How you pay
Pay by contactless, NCTX Buses / mango / train operator apps or On-the-day Single.
i
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
How to use it
No reader to tap: you show your phone ticket or paper ticket to a member of staff or an inspector.
i
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Cost
Flat fare — see the fares link for the amounts.
Worth knowing
Worth knowing: Your phone has to be charged with the ticket readable; if you cannot show it you pay the full fare again.
i
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
Nottingham City TransportFares
How you pay
Pay by contactless, Robin Hood card, Easyrider, NCTX Buses / mango / train operator apps or On-the-day Single.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
How to use it
Tap the reader on board as you get on.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Cost
Zonal fare — see the fares link for the amounts.
How you pay
Pay by Robin Hood card.
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
skills.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
How to use it
Tap the reader on board as you get on.
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
skills.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
Cost
Flat fare — see the fares link for the amounts.
Worth knowing
Worth knowing: Medilink runs only between the Queens Drive park and ride, the Queen's Medical Centre and City Hospital.
i
skills.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
Stagecoach East MidlandsFares
How you pay
Pay by contactless, Robin Hood card or NCTX Buses / mango / train operator apps.
i
stagecoachbus.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
How to use it
Tap the reader on board as you get on.
i
stagecoachbus.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
How you pay
Pay by contactless, Robin Hood card, mango or On-the-day Single. No NCTX Buses / mango / train operator apps.
i
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
How to use it
Touch in and out.
i
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Cost
Distance fare — see the fares link for the amounts.
Worth knowing
Airport supplement: Robin Hood products are NOT valid on skylink express (the EMA service via Clifton), nor on red arrow or trentbarton night buses.
Across every operator here — which ticket do you want to use?
Tap to pay — bank card or phone
Who takes itDiamond Bus Nottingham City Transport Stagecoach East Midlands trentbarton
Fare basisDiamond Bus: flat fare; Nottingham City Transport: zonal fare; trentbarton: distance fare.
Where to get itNothing to get first — the card or phone in your pocket is the ticket.
Travel smartcard · Robin Hood card
Who takes itNottingham City Transport Skills Stagecoach East Midlands trentbarton
Fare basisNottingham City Transport: zonal fare; Skills and trentbarton: flat fare.
Where to get itAll Pay As You Go card types can be purchased online or at the Nottingham Travel Centre Full detail: Tickets & cards.
Medilink runs only between the Queens Drive park and ride, the Queen's Medical Centre and City Hospital.
Travel smartcard · mango
Who takes ittrentbarton
Fare basisDistance fare
Where to get itmango is smartphone-app-only. Full detail: Tickets & cards.
How to use itTouch in and out.
i
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Fail to scan off and you are charged the single fare from your scan-on point to the final destination of that bus service (not a flat penalty).
Travel smartcard · Easyrider
Who takes itNottingham City Transport
Fare basisZonal fare
Where to get itOrder or pay for a new Easyrider card online or at the Travel Centre Full detail: Tickets & cards.
Phone ticket · NCTX Buses / mango / train operator apps
Where it worksEvery operator except trentbarton.
Who takes itDiamond Bus Nottingham City Transport Stagecoach East MidlandsNot on: trentbarton
Fare basisDiamond Bus: flat fare; Nottingham City Transport: zonal fare.
Where to get itDownload the free NCTX Buses app and pay by debit/credit card, Apple Pay or Google Pay. Full detail: Tickets & cards.
How to use itNo reader to tap: you show your phone ticket to a member of staff or an inspector.
i
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Your phone has to be charged with the ticket readable; if you cannot show it you pay the full fare again.
Paper ticket · On-the-day Single
Who takes itDiamond Bus Nottingham City Transport trentbarton
Fare basisDiamond Bus and trentbarton: flat fare; Nottingham City Transport: zonal fare.
Where to get itFrom the driver on boarding. Full detail: Tickets & cards.
How to use itNo reader to tap: you show your paper ticket to a member of staff or an inspector.
i
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
A single or a return does not allow a break of journey.
  • Incomplete journeys: If you do not touch off at the end of your journey you are charged the maximum fare for that journey.
  • Paying cash: Coins buy a paper ticket: On board Diamond Bus buses. Also at Easyrider adult-card issuance points and NCT and other Nottingham-area bus operators. Nottingham City Transport gives no change, so you need the exact fare there.
    i
    diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
    No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026

Diamond Bus fares · Nottingham City Transport fares · Skills fares

Taxi & ride apps

Nottingham splits its cabs in two. A Hackney Carriage can be flagged in the street or picked up at a rank and runs on a council-set meter. A private hire car has to be booked through an operator first, and the council's own advice is never to get into one you did not book. To pay a street-hailed cab by card, the FreeNow app can settle the fare without a booking, though it does not list East Midlands Airport among the airports it serves. Bolt takes Mastercard and Visa, not American Express.

Hackney Carriage
How you pay
Cards at some. A metered fare, using Council-approved rates displayed on a fare chart in the cab.
i
nottinghamcity.gov.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nottinghamcity.gov.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
How you get one
Street hail, rank or app.
Cost
Metered.
Worth knowing
Council safety guidance (Travel Safely by Taxi page): 'Never get into a private hire vehicle if you have not booked it through an operator - whether that's by phone, online or via an app' and 'Check that the vehicle you're getting into is the vehicle you booked' - i.e. Hackney Carriages may be street-hailed but Private Hire Vehicles must always be pre-booked through a licensed operator.
i
nottinghamcity.gov.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nottinghamcity.gov.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026

Ride apps licensed here

How you pay
Takes payment in the app.
i
uber.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
uber.com fetched 11 Aug 2026
How you get one
App or website.
Cost
Upfront price shown in the app before you book.
Worth knowing
Uber's own Nottingham city guide lists coverage extending to nearby areas including Broughton, Nuthall, Arnold and West Bridgford (per the page's footer link list).
i
uber.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
uber.com fetched 11 Aug 2026
How you pay
Takes payment in the app. Card payment via the app.
i
bolt.eu fetched 20 Jul 2026
bolt.eu fetched 11 Aug 2026
How you get one
In the app.
Cost
Upfront price shown in the app before you book.
How you pay
Takes payment in the app and cash. Choose how to pay for your taxi or Ride: Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayPal or card [in-app].
i
free-now.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
free-now.com fetched 11 Aug 2026
How you get one
In the app.
Cost
Upfront price shown in the app before you book.
Worth knowing
FreeNow's own UK cities list confirms Nottingham as a served city.
i
free-now.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
free-now.com fetched 11 Aug 2026
How you pay
Fixed, pre-paid fares for all airport journeys - no additional supplements for airport journeys.
i
arrowcars.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
arrowcars.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
How you get one
App or phone.
Cost
Upfront price shown in the app before you book.

More on this: Uber and taxis in Nottingham

Bike & e-scooter hire

Dockless vehicles park on-street inside app-approved zones; there is no station to return them to.

Both schemes are geofenced to the Nottingham City Council boundary and stop working outside it, with one stated exception: Lime's e-bikes are also allowed in Beeston. Ending the hire is the part that costs money. The vehicle has to be left in one of the marked bays, an improper park brings a fine, and repeat offences end with the account banned. Riding on the pavement is out, and a privately owned scooter is illegal on public land.

DottDockless
Vehicles
E-scooter18+ · licence required
How you pay
In the app, on your registered card.
i
transportnottingham.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
gbfs.api.ridedott.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
How you get one
Dockless — find one on the street through the app. Unlock by app.
Cost
Pay-as-you-go, priced per minute with no separate unlock fee: £0.29/min for scooters, £0.25/min for bicycles. Rates change often; the app shows the current price before you unlock.
Worth knowing
18+, driving licence required · The operating area is geofenced to the Nottingham City Council boundary; vehicles won't function outside it.
LimeDocklessli.me
Vehicles
E-bike
How you pay
In the app, on your registered card.
i
transportnottingham.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
How you get one
Dockless — find one on the street through the app. Unlock by app.
Cost
Check the operator’s pricing page. Rates change often; the app shows the current price before you unlock.
Worth knowing
Taking an e-bike outside the permitted area triggers a fine.

More on this: Bike & e-scooter hire in Nottingham

Tickets & cards

Getting hold of a card here costs little or nothing. Your first Easyrider is free, an adult Robin Hood pay-as-you-go card is a one-off £3, and there is no mango card to buy at all — mango lives in an app that wants a bank card loaded and a £10 minimum top-up. What the day then costs on trentbarton depends on the hour you start: board before 9am on a weekday and the limit is £10.10 on mango and £10.50 on its contactless product, while after 9am the same day stops at £6.30 and £7.

Tap to pay — bank card or phone
Cost
Nothing to buy — each tap bills the card you already carry.
Get it
The card or phone in your pocket — nothing to get first.
Use it
Tap the reader on board as you get on.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Who takes it
Diamond Bus Nottingham City Transport NET Stagecoach East Midlands trentbarton
Worth knowing
Nottingham Contactless caps daily spend on Nottingham City Transport buses and NET trams.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Rides onTram · Bus
Travel smartcard · Robin Hood card
Cost
A one-off £3 fee applies to adult Pay As You Go cards on first purchase.
Get it
All Pay As You Go card types can be purchased online or at the Nottingham Travel Centre; Adult cards can additionally be purchased at any tram ticket machine. Cash at easyrider adult-card issuance points, crossCountry trains and East Midlands Railway trains, among others. A card at easyrider adult-card issuance points.
Use it
Tap the reader on board as you get on.
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Who takes it
CrossCountry East Midlands Railway Nottingham City Transport NET Skills Stagecoach East Midlands and 1 more
Worth knowing
PAYG scope (bus/tram only, no rail): NCT, trentbarton (excluding Skylink Express/Clifton, Red Arrow and trentbarton night buses), NET tram, Kinchbus, CentreBus, and Skills (Medilink) - per robinhoodnetwork.co.uk's own pay-as-you-go-cards/ page, which does NOT list Stagecoach or NottsBus Connect.
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Rides onTram · Train · Bus
Travel smartcard · mango
Get it
mango is smartphone-app-only. No place that sells it takes cash. Pay by card in the app.
Use it
The ticket is valid from the moment it is issued - there is nothing to tap or stamp.
i
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Who takes it
trentbarton
Worth knowing
mango covers trentbarton's own bus network plus Kinchbus services, explicitly EXCLUDING the arriva X38 route (confirmed verbatim on this page).
i
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
Rides onBus
Travel smartcard · Easyrider
Cost
Your first Easyrider card is free.
Get it
Order or pay for a new Easyrider card online or at the Travel Centre; the Purse variant can also be posted. Cash at easyrider adult-card issuance points. A card at easyrider adult-card issuance points.
Use it
Tap the reader on board as you get on.
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Who takes it
Nottingham City Transport
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Rides onBus
Phone ticket · NCTX Buses / mango / train operator apps
Get it
Download the free NCTX Buses app and pay by debit/credit card, Apple Pay or Google Pay.
Use it
Carry it and show it if asked.
i
crosscountrytrains.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Who takes it
CrossCountry Diamond Bus East Midlands Railway Nottingham City Transport NET Northern Trains and 1 more
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Rides onTram · Train · Bus
Paper ticket · On-the-day Single
Get it
From the driver on boarding. Every place that sells it takes cash, some of them only for part of the range. A card at easyrider adult-card issuance points and NCT and other Nottingham-area bus operators.
Use it
Carry it and show it if asked.
i
crosscountrytrains.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Who takes it
CrossCountry Diamond Bus East Midlands Railway Nottingham City Transport NET Northern Trains and 1 more
Worth knowing
NCT sells three cross-operator All Day paper tickets: the Robin Hood All Day Ticket, valid on NCT and other bus, tram and train services (£6.90); the NottsBus Day Connect, valid on NCT plus NottsBus 747 and 833 (£10.00); and the Newark All Rounder, valid on NCT and other bus operators (£5.30).
i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Rides onTram · Train · Bus

Caps

SchemePeriodWhere it appliesAmount
Nottingham ContactlessDailyZone A, NCT buses only£5.50
Nottingham ContactlessDailyZone A, NCT plus NET tram£6.90
Nottingham ContactlessDailyZones B, C and D, NCT buses only£8.00
trentbarton contactlessDailytrentbarton buses only — from 9am on weekdays (from 4am on weekends and bank holidays)£7.00
trentbarton contactlessDailytrentbarton buses only — before 9am on weekdays£10.50
Robin Hood PAYGDailyacross participating operators — adults£6.90
Robin Hood PAYGDailyacross participating operators — under-19s£4.60
Robin Hood PAYGDailyacross participating operators — students aged 19–21£5.60
Robin Hood PAYGDailyone operator only — adults£5.50–£6.00
Robin Hood PAYGDailyone operator only — under-19s£3.50–£4.20
Robin Hood PAYGDailyone operator only — students aged 19–21£4.50–£4.70
mango rolling capsDailytrentbarton buses only — adults, after 9am on weekdays (from 4am on weekends)£6.30
mango rolling capsDailytrentbarton buses only — adults, before 9am on weekdays£10.10
mango rolling capsDailytrentbarton buses only — under-19s (Young mango), after 9am£4.40
mango rolling capsDailytrentbarton buses only — under-19s (Young mango), before 9am£8.20
mango rolling capsWeekly (rolling 7-day window)trentbarton buses only — adults£35.00
mango rolling capsWeekly (rolling 28-day window)trentbarton buses only — adults£108.00
NCT All DayDailyNCT City zone — adults£5.70
NCT All DayDailyNCT Outer zone — adults£8.00
NCT All DayDailyNCT Newark zone — adults£4.50
  • Capping: Nottingham Contactless caps daily spend on Nottingham City Transport buses and NET trams.
    i
    nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
    nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
  • Cross-operator products: The Robin Hood Season card gives unlimited travel for 1, 3, 6 or 12 months across the whole Robin Hood boundary (NCT, trentbarton, Stagecoach, NottsBus Connect, CentreBus and Skills buses; NET tram; and East Midlands Railway and CrossCountry rail at six boundary stations), bought online or at the Nottingham Travel Centre.

Discounts & free travel

An English older person's or disabled person's bus pass gives free travel on local buses here, as it does across England. The tram is narrower: free tram travel is for passes issued by Nottingham City Council or Nottinghamshire County Council, on weekdays between 09:30 and 23:00 and all day at weekends and bank holidays. Trains are not covered, and neither are premium and night buses or trentbarton's Red Arrow. The student tier on mango is verified by an academic email address ending .ac.uk.

  • These are the discounts a visitor can claim. 5 more need something you sign up for locally - an address here or a local benefit, a national ID or a disability card - or never establish whether a visitor can hold them, so we leave those out for now.

Children

Child⅓ off
How much
Reduced Season card pricing: £72-£593 across 1/3/6/12 months, versus £100-£948 for adults.
Who it is for
Riders under 19, who provide proof of age and have a photo taken for the card at purchase.
Loads onto
Robin Hood card
You show
Proof of age plus a photo taken for the card, provided at the time of purchase (online or at the Nottingham Travel Centre) - not restricted to in-person issuance.
i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026

Discount cards

Adult33% off
A third off
How much
A third off (33%) for 16-25, 26-30, Senior and Veterans Railcards. Family & Friends gives accompanying children aged 5-15 a 60% discount; the adult companion's own discount isn't stated.
Who it is for
National Railcard holders — 16-25, 26-30, Senior (60+), Disabled Persons, Family & Friends, Two Together, Veterans, or 16-17 Saver — get a discount on train fares across Great Britain.
Loads onto
On-the-day Single
You show
Valid physical or digital Railcard shown at time of ticket purchase and again on the train when checked: 'You must show your valid Railcard when you buy your ticket.
i
railcard.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026

Other discounts

Child10% off
10% off adult cash singles
How much
10% off adult cash singles, plus reduced rolling caps: £4.40 day cap after 9am on weekdays or from 4am on weekends, £8.20 day cap before 9am on weekdays, £22.50 for 7 days, £70 for 28 days.
Who it is for
An under-19/young-person mango account tier, applied automatically by the app based on your registered age.
Loads onto
mango
i
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026

Questions people actually ask

Can I use contactless in Nottingham?

Yes — on the NET tram and on the buses of Nottingham City Transport, Stagecoach East Midlands, Diamond and trentbarton, with your own card, phone or watch and nothing to buy first. What changes from one to the next is where you tap, what a missed tap costs and whose cap you end up under.

On the NET tram you tap the reader on the platform before you board, not on the tram itself. Tapping off again is optional on an ordinary journey, but inside a Short Hop Zone it is the difference between two fares: tap off within 20 minutes and the hop is £1.50, and if you do not, you are charged the full £3.50 single instead.

On the buses the reader is on board. Nottingham City Transport and Stagecoach East Midlands take one tap as you get on and nothing more; Diamond Bus is the same single tap to pay. trentbarton is the exception — tap on and tap off — and forgetting the second tap charges you the maximum fare for that journey, which you can ask back from customer services within 8 weeks. Skills does not say which payments its Medilink drivers take, so ask the driver before you tap on a Medilink bus.

The caps are two separate schemes. Nottingham Contactless covers NCT buses and NET trams on the same card: £5.50 for a day in Zone A on NCT alone, £6.90 for a day in Zone A that includes a tram, and £8.00 on NCT out in zones B, C and D. trentbarton is not in that scheme and caps on its own buses instead, at £7.00 a day from 9am on a weekday or from 4am at a weekend, and £10.50 if you start before 9am on a weekday. Stagecoach and Diamond sit outside Nottingham Contactless; on Stagecoach what limits you is the national £3 ceiling on most single fares.

So pick one card and use only that one all day, because a cap builds on the card and not on you — tap the platform reader before you board a tram, and tap off when you leave a trentbarton bus.

i
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
nottinghamcontactless.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 11 Aug 2026
stagecoachbus.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
kinchbus.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 18 Aug 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 18 Aug 2026
skills.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
No public page for this one fetched 19 Aug 2026
Can I use contactless on the bus in Nottingham?

Yes, on every bus company in the city, using your own bank card, phone or watch. There is nothing to buy and nothing to register.

Where they differ is the tap itself. Nottingham City Transport and Stagecoach East Midlands take one tap as you board and that is the whole transaction. Diamond Bus is a single tap to pay as well — on its em-9 Airway route to the airport that tap is a flat £4.00 adult single. trentbarton alone works tap on and tap off, and the second tap is the one that matters: forget it and you are charged the maximum fare for that journey, refundable only if you ask customer services within 8 weeks.

The caps do not pool. Nottingham Contactless is the scheme that covers Nottingham City Transport and the NET tram together on one card, and a day on it stops at £5.50 in Zone A, £8.00 out in zones B, C and D, or £6.90 if the same card also touched a tram. trentbarton caps separately on its own buses, at £7.00 a day from 9am on a weekday or from 4am at a weekend and £10.50 before 9am on a weekday. Stagecoach and Diamond cap nothing in Nottingham; on Stagecoach what protects you is the national £3 ceiling on a single fare.

So use one card for the whole day and no other, and tap off when you get off a trentbarton bus.

i
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
stagecoachbus.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
kinchbus.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 18 Aug 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 18 Aug 2026
What is the Robin Hood card, and do I need one?

The Robin Hood card is the one card here that works across more than one company. What it covers depends on which kind you hold, and that is where visitors come unstuck.

The pay-as-you-go card is a bus and tram card. It works on Nottingham City Transport, the NET tram, trentbarton — though not on Skylink Express, Red Arrow or trentbarton night buses — plus Kinchbus, CentreBus and Skills' Medilink. It does not work on a train, and it does not cover Stagecoach or NottsBus Connect. It caps an adult day at £6.90 across operators, or lower if you stay on one operator all day. An adult pay-as-you-go card costs a one-off £3; there is no fee for the Under 19, Student or 19-21 versions.

Season cards are the ones that reach the railway, and only just. East Midlands Railway and CrossCountry travel is included, but only between six stations — Attenborough, Beeston, Nottingham, Netherfield, Carlton and Bulwell. Season cards also add Stagecoach's Pronto, Sherwood Arrow and route 141, and NottsBus Connect.

Buy any pay-as-you-go card online or at the Nottingham Travel Centre in Old Market Square; an adult one can also be bought from any tram ticket machine. Top it up at a tram machine, in the Robin Hood Ticketing app, online, or at the Travel Centre. The Under 19, Student and 19-21 cards need proof at the point of purchase — age and a photo, a Nottinghamshire address, or an in-date student ID — so leave time for it.

If your days here are buses and trams, buy the adult card and stop thinking about fares. If you were counting on it at a railway gateline, buy a train ticket instead: a pay-as-you-go Robin Hood card will not open one.

i
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
crosscountrytrains.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
skills.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
No public page for this one fetched 19 Aug 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
No public page for this one fetched 4 Aug 2026
thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
What is the mango, and do I need one?

mango is trentbarton's own pay-as-you-go scheme, and despite sitting among the travel cards there is no card: it is an account on your phone and nothing else. You scan a QR code as you board and scan it again as you get off, and the fare comes out of the pair.

It covers trentbarton's own network and Kinchbus, and nothing beyond that — not Nottingham City Transport, not the NET tram, and explicitly not the Arriva X38. It is not part of Nottingham Contactless and it is not the Robin Hood network. Those are three separate schemes and nothing you spend on one counts towards another.

The fares roll rather than reset. An adult day caps at £6.30 after 9am on a weekday and £10.10 before it; beyond the day, the app looks back over a rolling 7-day window and caps at £35.00, and over a rolling 28-day window at £108.00. The week is the last seven days, in other words, not the calendar one.

To set it up, add a bank or debit card in the app, then top up by hand from £10.00 at a time or turn on auto top-up; the balance stops at £250.00. There is no shop, machine or kiosk that will do any of this for you.

And then scan off every time. Forget it and you are charged the single fare from where you got on all the way to that bus's final destination.

i
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
No public page for this one fetched 4 Aug 2026
What is the Easyrider, and do I need one?

Easyrider is Nottingham City Transport's own smartcard, and it is the narrowest of the local cards: it is good on NCT buses and on nothing else — not the NET tram, not trentbarton, not Skills, not a train.

It comes in two coverage zones. The City Zone takes in the Greater Nottingham area and nearly all of NCT's services; the Outer Zone is reached by the 'Further' versions of the same cards. A separate Newark Zone has its own week and month tickets, sold through the NCTX Buses app rather than loaded on the card.

Your first Easyrider is free. A replacement costs £3 collected in person at the Travel Centre in Old Market Square, or £5 if it is posted to you. Order or pay for a new card online or at the Travel Centre; the Easyrider Purse, the pay-as-you-go version of the same card, can also be posted, and is topped up online or at the Travel Centre in multiples of £5. To check a balance, type the eight-digit number from the card into NCT's own website.

Do you need one? Only if you are here a while and riding NCT specifically. For a few days, tapping your own bank card on the same buses earns you the same capped day without buying anything at all.

i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 11 Aug 2026
thetram.net fetched 4 Aug 2026
No public page for this one fetched 4 Aug 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Is there a daily cap in Nottingham?

Yes, but there are four separate capping schemes here and not one of them covers the whole city, so which cap you get depends entirely on what you tap and whose bus you are on.

Tap your own bank card on a Nottingham City Transport bus or a NET tram and Nottingham Contactless caps your day: £5.50 on NCT buses alone within Zone A, £6.90 if you use the trams as well, and £8.00 in Zones B, C and D on NCT alone. The capping day runs from 04:30 to 04:29 the next morning.

Tap the same bank card on a trentbarton bus and you are in a different scheme with different numbers. trentbarton caps its own buses at £7.00 a day from 9am on weekdays, and from 4am at weekends and on bank holidays; board before 9am on a weekday and the cap is £10.50 instead. Nothing spent on trentbarton counts towards the Nottingham Contactless cap, or the other way about.

The Robin Hood card is the one that crosses operators: £6.90 for an adult day across the participating operators, £4.60 for under-19s and £5.60 for students aged 19 to 21. Stay on a single operator all day and it caps lower still, at that operator's own rate, which for an adult starts at £5.50 and varies by company.

mango, trentbarton's app-based scheme, caps an adult at £6.30 a day after 9am on a weekday and £10.10 before it, then keeps going: £35.00 over a rolling 7-day window and £108.00 over a rolling 28-day one, both counted backwards from today rather than reset on a Monday.

So the choice is easy to state and easy to get wrong. If your day is NCT buses and trams inside the city, tap a bank card and take the Nottingham Contactless cap. If it mixes trentbarton with anything else, a Robin Hood card is the only thing that will add the two together.

i
nctx.co.uk fetched 18 Aug 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 18 Aug 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
Will my foreign card work in Nottingham?

The rule stated here is the open one: any card carrying the contactless symbol works. No card scheme is named as accepted and none is named as refused, so there is no list your card can fail to be on, and the symbol is genuinely the test. Nottingham City Transport's own contactless pages say nothing about cards issued outside the UK in either direction, so if yours is anything unusual, treat the reader as the test and carry a second way to pay.

Where the tap works is wide. Nottingham City Transport, Stagecoach East Midlands and Diamond East Midlands all take a contactless card or phone at a reader on the bus. trentbarton takes one on the way on and again on the way off. The NET tram reads it at a reader on the platform, where tapping out again is optional rather than required.

What is narrower is the capping, and this is the part that catches a visitor. Nottingham Contactless — the shared daily ceiling — counts only taps made on Nottingham City Transport buses and NET trams. trentbarton runs a separate contactless product of its own that sits outside it, and East Midlands Railway, CrossCountry and Northern trains are outside it altogether.

So use one card, or one device, for the whole day: the ceiling is built per card, and a morning paid on your phone and an afternoon paid on the plastic never add up. If a reader turns your card away, a Nottingham City Transport driver will sell you a paper ticket for cash — bring the exact fare, because they give no change and will not take a £20 or £50 note.

i
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
nottinghamcontactless.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 11 Aug 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
kinchbus.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
stagecoachbus.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
transportnottingham.com fetched 4 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
No public page for this one fetched 4 Aug 2026
What happens if I do not validate in Nottingham?

The tram is where a fine actually exists. On NET, travelling without a valid ticket brings a penalty fare of £120, halved to £60 if you pay within 14 days. Missing a tap off is not that, though: on a standard single journey there is no penalty for it. The one place it costs you is inside a Short Hop Zone, where the discounted £1.50 fare depends on tapping off within 20 minutes — miss that and you are charged the full £3.50 single instead.

No bus company here issues a flat fine, and what happens instead differs by operator. trentbarton reads a tap on and a tap off: forget the tap off and you are charged the maximum fare for that journey, and you can ask for it back by contacting customer services within 8 weeks. mango works the same way but charges differently — fail to scan off and you pay the single fare from where you scanned on to the final destination of that bus. Nottingham City Transport reads a tap on only, so on NCT there is nothing to miss. On Diamond, a mobile ticket you cannot display, because the phone is flat or the screen unreadable, means paying the full fare over again.

The trains are the expensive ones. East Midlands Railway issues a penalty fare of £100, reduced to £50 if you pay within 21 days. CrossCountry runs no fixed penalty scheme of its own: a passenger without a valid ticket is asked for a name and address and issued an unpaid fares notice, settled at the single fare plus reasonable administrative costs within 21 days.

So the one habit worth forming is a tram habit. Inside a Short Hop Zone, tap off before the twenty minutes are up; everywhere else, keep hold of the ticket or the tap you started with, because that is what an inspector asks to see.

i
support.thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
nottinghamcontactless.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 11 Aug 2026
thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
kinchbus.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
crosscountrytrains.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
How do I get from East Midlands Airport to the centre?

East Midlands Airport has a single terminal, and two trentbarton bus routes run from it into Nottingham. Skylink Express is the quicker at about 31 minutes; Skylink Nottingham takes about 46. Both leave from the terminal and both take a contactless bank card, mango or cash.

The difference between them is the ticket, and it is worth settling before you board. A Robin Hood card is valid on Skylink Nottingham but not on Skylink Express: trentbarton names Skylink Express on its exclusion list, so a Robin Hood cardholder who takes the faster bus has to buy a trentbarton ticket for it. It runs the other way for trentbarton's own zigzag day ticket, which covers Skylink Express at no extra charge, while whether it covers Skylink Nottingham is not stated.

For a car, Arrow Cars is the airport's own private hire partner, with pick-up and drop-off points right outside the terminal and a booking desk in the arrivals hall; its airport fares are fixed and paid in advance, with no supplements added on top. Uber and Bolt both operate here, and both send you to a pick-up point through the app rather than a marked bay. Bolt says an airport fee applies to these trips without publishing the amount, so check the price in the app before you request the ride.

So decide by what is already in your pocket. With a Robin Hood card, walk to Skylink Nottingham. Bank card, mango or cash, and in a hurry: Skylink Express.

i
eastmidlandsairport.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 18 Aug 2026
bolt.eu fetched 20 Jul 2026
arrowcars.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
uber.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
Can I pay cash in Nottingham?

Yes. Coins pay the driver on Nottingham City Transport, trentbarton, Stagecoach East Midlands and Diamond buses; coins also go into the platform ticket machines at every NET tram stop, and into the machines at Nottingham station for East Midlands Railway, CrossCountry and Northern.

Cash buys a ticket rather than opening a gate. Pay as you board a bus and take what the driver gives you, or buy at a machine on the tram platform before you get on.

Change is where the operators part company, and it is worth knowing which is which before you are standing at the door. trentbarton drivers give change. Stagecoach East Midlands gives it on some services and not on others. Nottingham City Transport drivers give none at all, and will not take a £20 or a £50 note either, so an NCT fare has to be counted out exactly. No change policy is recorded for Diamond.

The machines are more forgiving than the drivers. The tram and station machines take coins, and the machines that issue Easyrider cards take coins, some notes, and do give change. So if all you have is a note, buy at a machine rather than at the door.

i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
stagecoachbus.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nationalrail.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
northernrailway.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 11 Aug 2026
thetram.net fetched 4 Aug 2026
No public page for this one fetched 4 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
Do Nottingham buses take cash?

Yes, on every bus company here. Nottingham City Transport, trentbarton, Stagecoach East Midlands and Diamond all take coins from the driver, and the driver issues you a paper ticket for the journey.

Change is the thing that differs, and the answer is different for each of them. trentbarton drivers give change. Stagecoach East Midlands gives it on some of its services and not on others. Nottingham City Transport gives none at all and will not accept a £20 or a £50 note either, so an NCT fare has to be exact. Diamond records no change policy, so treat it as exact too.

If counting coins at the door is a nuisance, all of these buses take a contactless bank card or a phone on the reader as you board instead. One thing to watch when you do: trentbarton expects a tap off at the end of the journey as well, while Nottingham City Transport does not — on NCT the one tap is the whole transaction.

i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
stagecoachbus.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
No public page for this one fetched 4 Aug 2026
kinchbus.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
Can I buy a ticket on my phone in Nottingham?

Yes, but there is no single Nottingham ticket app. Each operator sells its own and they do not overlap, so the app you want is the one belonging to whoever is driving.

For Nottingham City Transport buses it is the NCTX Buses app, free on iOS or Android, paid with a debit or credit card, Apple Pay or Google Pay. The tickets it sells are valid on NCT buses only, priced by City, Outer or Newark zone. Stagecoach East Midlands sells tickets in the Stagecoach Bus app. The NET tram accepts a ticket shown on a phone, and East Midlands Railway sells e-tickets through its own app or its website.

trentbarton is the odd one out: it sells no buy-and-show app ticket at all. What it has instead is mango, which is smartphone-only and works the other way round — you scan a QR code as you board and scan again as you get off, and the fare is calculated from the pair.

Two things to do before you are at the door rather than at it. Charge the phone: on Diamond, a mobile ticket you cannot display clearly means paying the full fare a second time. And if you are carrying a Robin Hood card, the Robin Hood Ticketing app is what tops it up and shows the balance — it does not replace the card, so the card still has to be in your hand when you board.

i
nctx.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
No public page for this one fetched 20 Jul 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
robinhoodnetwork.co.uk fetched 19 Aug 2026
nctx.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
stagecoachbus.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
thetram.net fetched 20 Jul 2026
support.thetram.net fetched 11 Aug 2026
eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 20 Jul 2026
news.eastmidlandsrailway.co.uk fetched 11 Aug 2026
diamondbuses.com fetched 20 Jul 2026
trentbarton.co.uk fetched 4 Aug 2026
No public page for this one fetched 4 Aug 2026
Do you list exact fares and journey times?

Fares yes; journey times only for airports. Fares, caps and penalties are printed where an operator publishes them, with the source beside each figure. Journey times appear only on the airport pages, as the rough time from the airport to the centre where one is published; there are no timetables here. For a live departure or a door-to-door route, use the operator's own journey planner.